Donations make our programs possible. Please donate today!

Sport classification categories - Blind Sports

What Classification Categories are there for athletes who are blind or have low vision?

The International Blind Sports Association and International Paralympic Committee determine each category of classification for athletes who are blind or have low vision.

What are the Paralympic classes for vision impairment?

The list below is intended as a guide only. Only authorised classifiers are able to provide a formal para sport classification.

Class B1

From no light perception in either eye to light perception, but an inability to recognise the shape of a hand at any distance or in any direction. Visual acuity is poorer than LogMAR 2.60 with best corrected vision.

Class B2

Ability to recognise objects up to a distance of 2 metres. Visual acuity ranges from LogMAR 1.5 to 2.60 (below 2/60) with best corrected vision and/or visual field of less than ten (10) degrees diameter

Class B3

Can recognise contours between 2 and 6 metres away. Visual acuity ranges from LogMAR 1.40 – 1.0 (2/60 – 6/60) with best corrected vision and/or visual field of more than ten (10) degrees and less than forty (40) degrees diameter.



Paralympic sport exists so that athletes with a disability have equal opportunities to compete and be successful in sport. Classification groups athletes who have similar impairments together into classes for competition in their particular sport. Each Paralympic sport has a different classification system and classification may be based on a physical, intellectual or visual impairment.

How do I get a classification?

For further information, please contact your national /international sporting body:

Blind Sports Australia
Australian Paralympic Committee
International Blind Sports Association